SCR Combined Authority

Sheffield City Region’s economy operates across a number of local council areas. Because things like transport, skills, infrastructure and business growth support are best delivered at a bigger level than individual local councils but at a smaller level than national government we have established a Combined Authority which works together across a number of local council areas to better work together to grow our economy.

Sheffield City Region Combined Authority comprises a formal membership of Sheffield, Rotherham, Barnsley and Doncaster whilst also including the councils of Bassetlaw, Chesterfield, North East Derbyshire, Derbyshire Dales and Bolsover as “non-constituent” members.

Members of the Combined Authority

The Combined Authority is made up of Leaders of each local council. A register of interests, committee membership and contact details for each member can be found by following the links below.

Cllr Chris Read
Leader of Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council
Chair of Sheffield City Region Combined Authority

Cllr Tricia Gilby
Leader of Chesterfield Borough Council
Vice Chair of Sheffield City Region Combined Authority

Cllr Sir Steve Houghton CBE
Leader of Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council

Cllr Simon Greaves
Leader of Bassetlaw District Council

Cllr Ann Syrett
Leader of Bolsover District Council

Mayor Ros Jones CBE
Mayor of Doncaster

Cllr Lewis Rose OBE
Leader of Derbyshire Dales District Council

Cllr Graham Baxter MBE
Leader of North East Derbyshire District Council

Cllr Julie Dore
Leader of Sheffield City Council

By working as a Combined Authority we are able to receive national government funding, secure powers over things like transport funding, skills funding and give ourselves the ability to raise funding to support the city regions economy.

The Combined Authority works very closely with the Local Enterprise Partnership to make sure our economic strategy drives the investment decisions in transport, infrastructure and skills that the Combined Authority make every six weeks.

To find information about the agendas, upcoming meetings and all previous work of each Committee follow the links below.